Assembly of Delegates elects NEA Trustees


Susan McBride of Bergen County was re-elected to a second three-year term as NEA State Director on the NEA Board of Directors at the March 19 meeting of the Assembly of Delegates (DA) of the NJEA. Stacy Yanko from Sussex County and Christopher Cannella from Essex County were elected to their first terms.

Temika Langston-Hughes of Cumberland County was elected as the NEA’s acting director.

The NEA Board of Directors is responsible for establishing general policies between the annual meetings of the NEA Representative Assembly (NEA RA). It is made up of an administrator from each affiliated state, general administrators to respect guarantees of representation, and representatives of students and retired members. Each state is entitled to one additional director for every 20,000 active and life members.

The NJEA has nine NEA State Directors who serve three-year terms. Typically, an election is held for three of New Jersey’s seats on the board of directors each March. Additionally, Cumberland County’s Ashanti Rankin is in her second term as NEA Director in a broader ESP position. General positions are elected in the NEA RA by delegates from across the country. Langston-Myers is also currently serving an unexpired ESP term on the NEA Board of Directors, to which she was appointed by NEA President Becky Pringle.

Delegates also approved membership of a new local association: the Bloomingdale’s Paraprofessionals Education Association.


Comments are closed.